Français  English  |  Sitemap

 Getting there
 Day trips

Site tools
Submit your business into directory. Link to us.

 Strasbourg > Council of Europe >

Council of Europe

The Council of Europe was founded in 1949, and it includes all the democratic states of the Old Continent. In January 1996, this political inter-governmental organisation included 39 democratic nations:
Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechstenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Russia, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom.

Its objectives are as follows Council of Europe
  • Defending Human Rights, multi-party democracy and the rule of law
  • Raising consciousness about and developing the European cultural identity
  • Searching for solutions to social issues (minorities' rights, racism, intolerance, environment, bioethics, AIDS, drugs, etc.)
  • Developing political partnerships with the new democratic nations of Europe
  • Helping central and East European countries in their political legislative and constitutional reform programmes
More information on Council of Europe photo © Council of Europe

© 2003 - - Independent tourist information and hotels.
Sponsored by Pro Region Slovakia